Media / Press Releases

Media Interviews/ Background Information
Sandra McKee
phone: 410-707-9472
email:  [email protected]

A star-studded class of professional and amateur standouts will be honored when the Maryland State Athletic Hall of Fame (MDSAHOF) conducts its 58th induction ceremony on Nov. 9, 2017 at Martin’s West in Baltimore. This year’s inductees include the youngest U.S. Olympic soccer player, three former NFL players who went on to cross the goal line as community leaders, a former Yankee who ranks second among major league pitchers with 53 postseason appearances, and two women who starred at Carolina colleges before achieving national glory, one in the water, one on the soccer pitch.


Inductees in the MDSAHOF Class of 2017 are:

Keion Carpenter: Football
Darryl Gee: Soccer
Jeff Nelson: Baseball
Tommy Polley: Football
Thori Staples Bryan: Soccer
Polly (Winde) Surhoff: Swimming
Brian Westbrook: Football

The John F. Steadman Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to John Schuerholz, who last month entered the National Baseball Hall of Fame for a sterling front office career that included leading the Kansas City Royals and Atlanta Braves to world championships.

The Nov. 9, 2017 induction ceremony will be held at Martin’s West, 6817 Dogwood Road, Baltimore, MD 21244. Tickets are $85 per person and include dinner & open bar during cocktail hour for the program, which is scheduled to run from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m.

Read more on the 2017 Inductees here

Purchase Banquet Tickets